Gingersnap Cookies

20160213_193154
Some special people are getting something delicious tomorrow!

Yum, yum, yum! I love cookies! And a special cookie that we ate many of in my childhood was gingersnap cookies! These delicious cookies were always a special winter cookie that tastes like cinnamon, ginger, and sweet, sweet sugar! Yum! My siblings and I would always steal a ball of dough from my mom’s baking pan when she wasn’t looking because nothing is better than cookie dough rolled in sugar.

We have had a cool couple of days here and both my boys were napping so I decided to warm up my house by baking. And when I’m feeling a little down (which tends to happen often when it’s cold and grey outside), I like to do something nice for someone else. So we made 7 dozen cookies to give to some special people tomorrow!

Alas I couldn’t make a cookie for every single one of my friends, so I figure I can share the recipe and, if you make them, I will take some of the credit. After all, isn’t that what friends are for?

Gingersnap Cookies

Cook time: 10-12 mins ~ Prep time: 10-15 mins ~ Yield: about 3 dozen

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar (white or brown, you choose. Brown makes darker cookies. I used white in the picture above)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ginger
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup white sugar (to roll dough balls in)

Cream butter and sugar together in a stand mixer. Add egg and molasses and mix well. Add flour, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, and salt. Mix until dough is uniform colour. Roll dough into 1″ balls and coat in white sugar (if dough seems too wet to roll, dust the dough with more flour until balls stay together when rolled in your hand). Place onto greased baking pan and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 10-12 mins. Let cool on a baking rack or enjoy warm.

Yum! These are delicious. You should make some to stuff your face with on Valentine’s day! They make great ice cream sandwiches with some vanilla ice cream crammed in between two of them. Mmmmmm….

Leave a Reply

