What Do I Buy A New Mom?

Lots of people on my Facebook friends list have announced in the last couple months that they are having babies. I’m loving that baby fever is in the air because I have a little one of my own (and another on the way) and I look forward for my babes to have little friends to play with!  But with all these new babies comes baby showers and it’s hard to find gifts that please and won’t just get regifted to the next mom-to-be. Just coming out of new-mommyhood myself, here are my top 5 gifts to give new moms. Please note that I am not being sponsored by any of these companies to endorse or review these products.

5. Sleepers (especially ones with zippers or magnets)

For the first nine months of Monkey’s life (so far), he wears sleepers like this or this 95% of the time. Why? Because they don’t pinch his tummy or have to be pulled up or tucked in or rolled up like every other outfit seems to. I think they are still freaking adorable, but I know they aren’t as stylish as babies in jeans and a sweater. I noticed an immediate difference in Monkey’s sleep habits when he slept in a sleeper vs. anything else. And when you are a new mom (or any mom for that matter), sleep is one of the most important things your baby can do.

So, in my books, skip the button up shirts or the leggings or the dresses and fill the new mom’s house with fuzzy-wuzzy (or cool if it’s warm where you are) sleepers. If you can find ones with bear ears like this one, you’ve done very, very well.20141216_114452

Monkey at 1 day old in my favorite sleeper!

4. Board Books

Maybe I’m a little biased, but I think that books are one of the most important learning tools we have as a culture, so why not start kids on them early? They are the perfect accessory to a low-key bedtime routine and it’s an amazing feeling when your little one learns to turn the pages all by herself! There are thousands upon thousands of books out there that you have got to be able to find something that will interest you as well as your little ones.

And one of the coolest parts of buying a baby a book is that it can act as a card as well (saving money!) if you write your message to the little munchkin on the inside cover. I’ve heard of many baby showers who actively ask people to bring books instead of cards because, let’s be honest, who actually keeps all the cards they receive nowadays?

Finally, books can be part of your child’s earliest memories. I still remember some of my favorite books that my parents would read to me (The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear anyone?). Cherishing those memories through those books that I can now share with my little tykes is simply amazing.

Unsure of which book to pick up? Read my top 5 favorite board books!

3. Blooming Bath

This is a little specific, but I absolutely love my Blooming Bath Flower. It’s a big foam flower you can get in a whole bunch of different colours that fits in your sink for bath time. Once your baby is too big for the sink, it works really well as a soft mat to lie on in the tub. Once bath time is over, toss it in the washing machine for a spin (or if it got dirty, maybe a full wash), and you’re good to go!

When I was pregnant, you could only buy these suckers in the USA so I had to order it from California and wait weeks before it arrived, but it was totally worth it! Now, I’m 90% sure that…yup! Bed Bath & Beyond carries them plus all their accessories.

2. Drooling Bibs

This is something that the big baby clothing companies have yet to pick up on: drooling bibs. These are little bibs, usually bandana shaped, that fit over your baby’s clothes to keep him dry while he burbles and spits and blows raspberries all over the rest of your house. These are things I’m not sure I could live without. I’m serious. My favorite ones have 3 layers: cotton on top in whatever adorable pattern is out there, flannel or cotton inside, and a bottom layer of polyurethane so the drool doesn’t soak through to the clothing. But I know lots of people who don’t love that bottom layer.

The only problem: where do you get them?? Etsy is the easiest if you’re looking online, but lots of small specialty shops have them as well. For me, I got all mine at Sweet Momma Spa in Edmonton, AB where they sell them for My Sunshine Creations, a local lady who makes them. Which is the third way you can get these: making them yourself. I mean, it’s literally a triangle with snaps/velcro to hold it together. So if you’re a crafty type, this might be the perfect, home made gift for someone you love.

20150708_091010

Monkey at 7 months in a bandana (yes, covered in some kind of cookie).

1. Swaddling Muslin Blankets

This is the final thing that I couldn’t live without. I’m not kidding. I have about 10 of these suckers and they have gotten me through the coldest winter days and the balmiest summer ones. My favorites have got to be Aden + Anais ones, but they can be a bit pricey. There are offbrand ones that are starting to get popular as well, so you should be able to find one of these guys somewhere.

They aren’t as soft as what you can find in the baby section, but they are breathable, which made me 1000% more comfortable with Monkey using them. They were a great size for swaddling head to toe and, when Monkey grew out of swaddling, they were perfect blankets for him to get tangled in at naptime. While he was teething, he loved to chew on these too. Plus, they’re machine washable and get softer every time you wash them. And, I will say it again, THEY ARE BREATHABLE!

20141230_122039

Monkey at 2 weeks, swaddled in his muslin blanket.

These are my top 5 gifts for new moms. What do you think? Have I missed anything? Tell me your favorite gifts to give (or receive) at a baby shower in the comments section below!

3 thoughts on “What Do I Buy A New Mom?

    1. I know that flower might be a bit too specific, but it sure made bath time easier for us. And maybe that’s just because I’m not a huge fan of baby bath time myself (is there a comfortable position out there for parents to bathe their kids? I’m not convinced there is).
      Good thing I learned about the sleeper rule from you otherwise, I might not have had such a good sleeping baby!

      Like

Leave a Reply

